Nobody can see the circles you put them in. They can only see that you've put them in a circle.
This is a feature, and a really, really good one.
Particularly with customized groups. "Wait, I'm in Lard-Soaked Fungus, but not in Tools of Baroque Instrument Maintenance... is that good or bad?"