32 Berkeley Astronomy Post-Docs on Geoffrey Marcy

UC Berkeley Astonomy Department Faculty

October 12, 2015

We, the undersigned UC Berkeley Astronomy faculty, write to make clear that sexual harassment has no place in our Department, and that we fully support the survivors of harassment. We regret the harm caused by our faculty, and reject any suggestion that our sympathies should be with the perpetrators of sexual harassment. We are committed to developing and maintaining a supportive, open climate in which all members of the Department can thrive, regardless of gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, disability, or religious faith.

This goal has been compromised by policies that led to a lack of communication in UC Berkeley's handling of Geoff Marcy's sexual harassment case. We urge the UC Berkeley administration to re-evaluate its response to Marcy, who has been found in violation of UC sexual harassment policy.

We believe that Geoff Marcy cannot perform the functions of a faculty member.


Jonathan Arons, Gibor Basri, Steven Beckwith, Joshua Bloom, Eugene Chiang, Marc Davis, Imke de Pater, Alex Filippenko, James Graham, Carl Heiles, Paul Kalas, Dan Kasen, Richard Klein, Mariska Kriek, Chung-Pei Ma, Burkhard Militzer, Peter Nugent, Aaron Parsons, Eliot Quataert, Uros Seljak, Daniel Weisz, Martin White

Memo: Last week: Gibor Basri:

Berkeley txt Dropbox